Rowling, JK

R

For this year’s A to Z Blog challenge, I thought I’d draw back the curtain and explore the life and times of a bibliophile.  Care to join me?

 

This is going to be short sweet and to the point.

I was a late fan to the adventures of the Boy Who Lived, and his friends, for reasons I do not understand.  I couldn’t get past the first three pages the first time I tried to read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (personally, I like the UK title better, but I’m weird that way). When I came back to it later, though, I was hooked.

I was amazed not only how sophisticated her plot was, extended through seven novels, but how many complex subjects she wrote about.  And her target audience was children?  Amazing.  But then I always did think adult vastly underestimate the capacity of a child’s mind to grasp difficult concepts.

So why do I include JK Rowling on my list?  Because she reminded me of the sense of wonder, whimsy, mystery, and flat out joy that brought me to reading in the first place.  And, because her work embodies one of my favourite quotes from Madeleine L’Engle:

“You have to write the book that wants to be written.  And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.”

 

Leave a Reply

