A to Z Blog Challenge: Theme Reveal

2017 Badge

 

The Life and Times of a Bibliophile

I’ll admit, my first idea was to write an A-to-Z of flash fiction, but given that I had already decided to do Camp NaNoWriMo as well, and not certain how I could make flash fiction relevant to my Camp NaNoWriMo plans, I decided to take some pressure off myself, and go with something a little less ambitious.  That sounds a lot better than my “What Were You Thinking” alarms started wailing like a tornado warning in Oklahoma during the summer.

What I’ve decided to do is write about books, specifically the books and people who made me fall in love with reading.  I’ve tried to focus on the time frame before the age of 16, since my love affair with books was well established by then.  The thing about reading, at least for me, is that not only is my taste constantly evolving, but I keep meeting new authors, new works that re-energize my love for the written word. In addition to my childhood favourites, I’ve also included more recent offerings that have spoken to my heart in similar ways.

Care to join me on this visit with the stories and storytellers who have shaped the reader that I am?  It’ll be fun!

11 thoughts on “A to Z Blog Challenge: Theme Reveal

    • Mostly a specific time. I’m trying to focus on books and authors I encountered before I turned 16, but there are some I encountered as an adult that had such an impact, I couldn’t leave them out.

      Like

  1. By now you realize I have caught up on your posts so far for the A to Z challenge. One of my reasons for doing A to Z is to find interesting new bloggers to add to my blog reader. You are one. I am putting together a post that will publish on Sunday, yes on the off day, to highlight the new bloggers on my radar and I intend to include you. You may not even notice a bump at all in your traffic from others, but I will be back.

    I am laying out the plot of a new historical fiction novel over my 26 A to Z posts. I’d love to have you stop by.

    The Steel Horse Saviors is a story about three civil war veterans who head west in 1866 with their Steam Locomotive to seek their fortune. They encounter a beautiful redhead trying desperately to save her family business that threatens to complicate their plan to escape their past.

    Joe @ the Fiction Playground visiting from the A to Z Challenge

    Like

Leave a Reply

