Wendy Woo

W

It’s the 2016 A to Z Blog Challenge, so I thought I’d focus on one of my favourite subjects: Guitars.  Care to join me?

Wendy Woo

What?  You thought I was done with the Girl Power?  Oh, no, no, no, no, no!

Wendy Woo is local to the Colorado Front Range, though marriage has taken her 70 miles or so north of Denver, to Fort Collins.  She’s settled down now, married, with kids so her heavy touring and gigging days are behind her for now, and she rarely plays outside of Colorado anymore. She used to be a fairly regular visitor to California, New York and Nashville, so if you hever do get a chance to hear her play – DO IT!  You won’t be sorry.

Wendy is a phenomenal singer/songwriter with a style that is reminiscent of a lot of influences but which is so distinctly her own that it seems it sprang up out of her bohemian upbringing in Boulder fully fledged, a kind of acoustic Pegasus taking flight as soon as it took breath.  With a guitar style that is both melodic and percussive, she can play a mean cover – “Son of a Preacher Man”, “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, and “Blackbird” are among my very favourites – but it is her original tunes and her “slaptap” fretboard technique that just sends shivers of sheer delight down my back.

She has shared the stage with some pretty impressive musicians, from the Indigo Girls to Sarah McLachlan to Carly Simon, to Sheryl Crow and James Taylor, and I have no doubt she has held her own with each of them.

I think I’m just going to let you judge her abilities for yourself.

Blackbird

Late Night Sunrise/Surprise Me (I was actually at this taping)

Knowledge

Walking the Skyline

Down and Dirty (I wish this video had a better angle so you could see her “slaptap” technique, but I think you get the idea)

Footprints In the Rain

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For

Son of a Preacher Man

Crisis

Leave a Reply

