Ultimate Guitar

U

It’s the 2016 A to Z Blog Challenge, so I thought I’d focus on one of my favourite subjects: Guitars.  Care to join me?

Ultimate Guitar

So, I’m not a trained musician.  What I know about music theory probably wouldn’t amount to much more than a five hundred word blog post.  I know just enough to be very dangerous and to get myself in a whole heap of trouble.  When it comes to finding songs I want to play, I either have to find a song book that has the song I’m interested in (and hopefully a lot of other songs I want to play), I have to find a sheet music download (Sheetmusicdirect.com, musicnotes.com or sheetmusicplus.com), or I have to find a guitar-friendly site with loads of TAB (tablature) for me to explore.

Enter Ultimate Guitar (ultimate-guitar.com).

Ultimate Guitar is more than just an awesome collection of guitar TAB.  They also have ukulele TAB, Bass Tab, and for those with the interest and spare cash to do it, there’s a “pro” version which pretty much amounts to “Learn the song directly from the artist.”  I haven’t tried that feature but I kind of like the idea that it’s available.

The TAB that’s available on Ultimate Guitar have been submitted by other guitarists and represents their own scholarship and study.  I’m not a gigging musician, so this is just my way of being able to play songs I really like and wouldn’t be able to play otherwise.  And while I’m at it, I might learn a little more about song writing and (*gasp*) music theory.  Who knows?

But Ultimate Guitar doesn’t stop there.  Reviews, news, lessons, forums, Ultimate Guitar is pretty much a “one-stop shop” for all things guitar.  Is it comprehensive?  Of course not, but it will touch on a lot of the major things you might be interested in.  And if you download the Ultimate Guitar app, you’ll have access to TAB, a tuner, metronome – pretty much anything a wannabe guitarist (and perhaps even real guitarists) might need in a pinch.

Check out Ultimate Guitar.  I think you’ll find it a helpful tool in your guitar playing life.

 

Leave a Reply

