Q Guitars

Q

 

It’s the 2016 A to Z Blog Challenge, so I thought I’d focus on one of my favourite subjects: Guitars.  Care to join me?

Q Guitars

I’ll be the first to admit this: I reached for this one.  I was about to think I was going to have to come up with something obnoxious like Quiet Riot.

And then I stumbled on Q Guitars.  Yes, that’s really what they’re called.

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find out very much about them except that they have some connection to the western Pennsylvania area, based on the area code listed on their website.

Their instruments are all handmade, with three steel-string models and two nylon string models.  The materials used in the construction of their guitars appears to be top notch with bone used for both the nut and the saddle.  The entire guitar can be customized from the choice of 12 or 14 fret neck set, custom string spacing, bracing customization, even your choice of neck shape.

Their steel-string models are the traditional dreadnought, an orchestra model, which is a little smaller than the dreadnought, and a jumbo, which is larger than a dreadnought.  On the nylon side, they have both a classical and a model they label a “Spanish” model.  Though their website suggests the Spanish model would be suitable for flamenco, I didn’t see anything on their website about tap plates or even pickguards.

Their guitars are not cheap, but for that amount of hand crafted customization, they really aren’t bad, even when compared against the likes of Martin, Taylor or Gibson.

I’ve reached out to the company for more information and I will be updating this post as they respond.

In the meantime, check out their website.  If their instruments sound as good as they look, they would be absolutely beautiful.

www.qguitar.com

 

Leave a Reply

